Working in rural areas

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Homo sapien

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a 1st year podiatry resident and I have a question. I'm from a heavily underserved/rural area and I was thinking about possibly going back to those types of areas post residency (not necessarily the same exact place but similar).

How exactly would one start hunting for contacts in those areas? Do you think it would be better to try to join on with some group or maybe try to start one's own practice, if the need was clearly there? I know that right now I'm just starting out and it's not close yet but I've been thinking about it in the back of my head

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I'm a 1st year podiatry resident and I have a question. I'm from a heavily underserved/rural area and I was thinking about possibly going back to those types of areas post residency (not necessarily the same exact place but similar).

How exactly would one start hunting for contacts in those areas? Do you think it would be better to try to join on with some group or maybe try to start one's own practice, if the need was clearly there? I know that right now I'm just starting out and it's not close yet but I've been thinking about it in the back of my head

Start contacting hospitals in the underserved areas and inquire if they are willing to hire you. I would do everything possible to join as a hospital employee or as a podiatrist in an affiliated multi specialty group rather than join the local podiatry group.

Reactions: 3 users
I work in a smaller underserved area and it is great. Although it does take some time to change the perception of what a podiatrist can do (more than chip/clip). You may be a little early to be contacting hospitals as the landscape could change greatly in the 6 years prior to you entering the market. Below is some information I have provided people via DM about small rural hospitals: