Worried Freshman Pre-Dental Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bio2019

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm sorry for the lengthy post!
I am currently a freshman Biology major at the university in which I hope to attend dental school (reason why I am here). I moved to a city from a rural area this August where I was your average high school student. I am a hispanic first generation high school and college student, so I am especially curious about details, tips, and especially experiences from university pre-dental or dental students. I am currently in Pre-dental society, so we have had our last two meetings at the dental school!! I love the atmosphere in PDS and in the dental school! We actually have had symposium where we were able to suture and attend mock interviews. Each time I am there I feel so motivated, but intimidated. I see all of my competition, each one of the freshman I have met there have had A.P. chem, bio, english, physics, or calc, etc. Our school only offered A.P. english and bio which I stupidly did not join. I now have biology, chemistry,with labs and 3 gen eds. I am aiming for the Reserved Admissions program offered for dental school in which requires a 3.6 math and science gpa, and a recommended 100 hour shadowing. I would apply after my sophomore year.
Anyways, my main reason I am writing this is because I had my 2nd Biology exam today. I got a 70 on my first bio exam, which was above the 64% average. And heres more: I failed my first chem exam, too. I thought I remembered everything for H.S. chemistry so I didn't study beyond the assigned homework, my next test is in 13 days. I know that was my biggest mistake.