Would you do a residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ldiot

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know it depends on the simple question if you want to work hospital vs retail but as a student I don't even know which I'd rather work and am looking for opinions.

I am just a first year student and have ~2 years retail experience. As I entered school I saw myself working in retail for a large chain because I was already comfortable in this environment, had no idea what it was like working in a hospital, and in terms of finances figured a residency was a major setback.

I am at my first hospital IPPE now and though the dispensing component seems less stressful than retail the clinical component doesn't really excite me as it does other students. I'm told by my advisor that hospital dispensing jobs are almost non existent and most hospital jobs are hybrid positions.

Basically what it comes down to is I am very comfortable in retail and mostly see myself working in retail. All I hear about all day every day in class is how clinical pharmacy is the future of pharmacy and how it is essentially pharmacy practice in its highest form. Yet clinical pharmacy doesn't excite me and is also a bit intimidating to be honest as a first year student. I am great at answering people's questions but am not really great at leading a conversation.

I know that if I do a residency I can also go into retail, but if I do into retail it's near impossible to transition into hospital which is why this decision is so difficult. Like I said before I think I'd actually enjoy a dispensing job in the hospital setting but the clinical aspect is just underwhelming for me and I am not interested in the apparent prestige of residency. I just don't want to lock myself into retail for life buy not carefully considering my options.