Year of GPR then PEDO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

McKnightRider

Quantum Solace
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
x

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a 4th year dental student. I applied for a pediatric residency but didn't match. I did, however, get a spot at a hospital GPR that provides a lot of pedo experience and will def. amp up my resume. Here's my dilemma:

My GPR begins around July 1st 2011...at that time last year I had already submitted my PASS stuff...so I'm wondering, if I'm using this GPR to make myself a better candidate for PEDO, will it not actually benefit until 2012 when I've completed it?

Because technically, when I apply again for PEDO in t-minus 4-5 months I'm the exact same applicant (more or less)...despite the fact that by the time I matriculate I'll have so much more experience...

best I can guess is that I just write: "Future experience: blah blah blah" but that's not that great...

has anyone else been in this same boat and have suggestions? I'm very confuzzled

Thanks!

Sorry, but this is a really stupid question and a non-issue. Just state on the application that you are in a GPR program (or will be beginning 7/1). That's it.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for your Great feedback. I was going to say something as rude as you, but I see from your avatar picture that you work with autistic kids...so you can't be all bad.

When I re-apply the ONLY difference on my app is going to be a small addendum:
-beginning GPR soon

Seems like a waste of 2 grand to even fill out pass if I'm exactly the same and failed last time...

I really don't see how this is a difficult question to give advice on