Possibly lock in fixed consolidation loans while still in school??? I did it!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PassinGas

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current M4 student. When loan people tell you that you can't consolidate while you are still in medical school, they may not be telling you correctly. I CONSOLIDATED THE MAJORITY OF MY LOANS THIS PAST YEAR, AND I AM STILL IN MEDICAL SCHOOL!!!

In my situation, private loan companies that dole out federal loans, such as EdAmerica, could not consolidate my loans while I was still in school, but I found out that Direct would consolidate my loans while I was still in school. I believe Direct was able to offer in school loan consolidation to me, because they are associated with the government and have their own regulations. They are the only ones that I know of that offer in school consolidation loans. You can check out their website at http://www.loanconsolidation.ed.gov/

I consolidated all but this last year worth of my loans. By consolidating all but my last year of loans and leaving my last year of loans with EdAmerica, I believe I am now in a better position to take advantage of more options.