The I Studied A Completely Useless Language (for Medicine) Thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

durfen

I see plans within plans
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
A thread for those who learned a language in high school/college that is completely useless in medicine.

Me: German.

Wie geht's euch?

Members don't see this ad.

durfen said:
A thread for those who learned a language in high school/college that is completely useless in medicine.

Wie geht's euch?

Hey, at least German is spoken in the world....***ahemlatinahem**

Members don't see this ad :)
durfen said:

Wie geht's euch?

German's not useless. Latin is far more useless!

baylormed said:

Oh yeah, well at least Latin has some tangential relationship with medicine. How about Lithuanian--3 million speakers in the whole world, and it's gramatically similar to Sanskrit (read: USELESS).

Japanese!!

nihongo o hanase masen (still not very good at the romaji)

baylormed said:

actually latin is probably one of the most useful languages for medicine -- you can figure out what a whole lot of terms mean without looking them up. As far as practicing medicine, spanish is the most useful second language in the US.

Law2Doc said:
actually latin is probably one of the most useful languages for medicine -- you can figure out what a whole lot of terms mean without looking them up. As far as practicing medicine, spanish is the most useful second language in the US.

I know, Latin can be useful for medical terminology. However, I think we will have plenty of time to learn the roots of the terms once we go to medical school (well, from my experience anyway, because i took a medical terminology course and learning roots was the first thing we did). I don't really see a necessity for 2 years of Latin classes.
It's these times when I'm very very glad I was born to Spanish-speaking parents :p .