What do you plan to do if you don't get in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jsp132

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
im majoring in biology, and if I don't get into vet school.........Im really getting nervous about what the career path could be

just will be a lab tech? :( sigh....

should i just try to switch to something more specialized my microbiology or something

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in 3rd year right now so if I'm rejected this year I'll finish up my 4th year. Next year I'll apply to both vet and med school. If I'm rejected for both next year, I'll probably take a year off to volunteer/work. Then reapply to both vet and med again. If I still get into neither, I'd probably do a Master's. And then reapply to both after I finish my Master's.

There is literally nothing else I want to be aside from a vet or doctor :(.

I guess the first question would be, how important is money to you?

For me, I'm not as concerned with the money issue as much as I am concerned about will I enjoy the job or not. Because of that, "my backup plan" is going into a zoological career. Maybe something as simple as a zookeeper. I'm not saying they don't make a lot of money (starting ~$30,000) but it's definitely less than a veterinarian.

You could also go into research careers - either in the field or a lab setting. There's definitely a lot of options out there!

Keep your head up though, if veterinary school is meant to be for you, it will happen :D

Members don't see this ad :)
im majoring in biology, and if I don't get into vet school.........Im really getting nervous about what the career path could be

just will be a lab tech? :( sigh....

should i just try to switch to something more specialized my microbiology or something