What to do if you don’t think vet school is for you anymore

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

theSAvet

Reaction score
I’ve been a vet student and I’m still feeling burned out and strained from that experience. I withdrew from the program in August and pretty much went straight into a different program.

I can’t say that I’m extremely happy. I’m not really enjoying the courses.

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve really been questioning if this is really what I still want to be doing. It may have to do with all the grief I’ve been going through with these programs and the VMCAS applications, but I just feel done with the BS that comes with academia and the bureaucracy. It really feels like it’s unnecessarily difficult and way more complicated and troublesome than it needs to be. Both applying to schools, the process, and dealing with difficult professors.

Any way, I was curious as to what people who have left the vet school path have chosen to do with their lives. I’m not a RVT and my Bachelors is in something I don’t want to go back to. I also don’t think that I’d want to do anything animal related either because of the bad taste these programs have left in my mouth for anything vet med related.

Any advice would be great

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
  • Care
Reactions: 1 users
My back up plan was working in residence life at my undergrad. I was on my third cycle and working for my undergrad when I made that decision because I was only going to apply 3 times. My major was bio and there was nothing that I wanted to use it for. I was eventually going to have to get a master's in higher Ed to move up in the world.

With that said, vet school is nothing like being a vet in any way. I work 36-48 hours a week (depending on if it's my week with 4 shifts) and I do minimal "studying" outside of work. I just had my annual review and got great feedback.