2011 Rank List Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pandavirus

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone....The beginning of order entry is coming up fast and I am having some difficulty with how to make my rank list. Especially the programs in my 'middle ground'. I would really appreciate any insight on how you would rank these programs.

Cleveland Clinic
Rush
Case Western Metrohealth
Boston University
UMass
University of Kentucky
UT Houston
Penn State
Indiana University
Medical College of Wisconsin
Wayne State

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Thanks for starting this, it's never too early to get help with the rank list. I am pretty confused on my own rank list. I wish I could give you some input, but I have no experience with several of the programs you listed. Hopefully someone here will help you first before I hijack the thread for my own purpose. LOL. Good luck!

I am going by two things at the top:
1) where I want to be geographically
2) Where did I have a good dinner the night before. I really mean this one too, but not in terms of the food; but rather where did I have good conversation with people I could spend the next 4 years with. And where did more than one resident come out because they weren't being "hidden."

In the middle:
1) Where did I fit with the people
2) Any bonuses the program has: i.e. pyxis in each OR, new ORs, electronic anesthesia records.

At the bottom:
1) Not ranking them if they didn't fall into one of the above groups.

Members don't see this ad :)
No one can rank them for you since what one might consider a great place, another may not.

When I did my rank list here is what I based it on:

1. Location - I needed to be close to family and was the area somewhere that I would be happy living for three to four years.