Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

2 gap years, am I screwed?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Allopathic [ MD ]' started by galaxyandstars, 09.24.14.

1. SDN is made possible through sponsorships and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. galaxyandstars

galaxyandstars

Applying in 2015. I graduated in Spring of 2013, then from 2013-2014 I volunteered at a hospital, worked, tried building up my hours, etc. From now to 2015, I'm doing research at a hospital and restudying for the MCAT. I was suppose to apply this cycle but put off my MCAT retake until September and voided (when I shouldn't because I was getting ~30 FL scores). It's too late and I know I won't get in anywhere. I now understand it was such a stupid mistake. So, now I'm getting myself ready to prep for the new MCAT (if need be). I'm continuing w/ my job + shadowing, etc (and have a 3.7 culm GPA).

Is it bad that I am applying in 2015, even though I graduated in 2013? I obviously will not make the same mistake and submit first day as I am 100% ready, mentally. Sucks that I'll attend med school when I'm like 26 though.

EDIT: shiz. meant 3 gap years, apparently.

Last edited: 09.25.14
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Aerus

Aerus Elemental Alchemist 2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    hSDN
    hSDN
    Alumni
    The average matriculation age is 24-25, so you'd be about average. Congratulations.

Osteoth and noolsy like this.
  4. Afford

Afford

Medical Student (Accepted)
    No. You're fine. Some people take 20 gap years.

5. galaxyandstars

galaxyandstars

I liked your pre-edited response better.. this one's too sassy. :D
    EDIT: I read that as "you'd be ABOVE average". So I take that back.

Thanks for the response @Afford.

6. Strudel19

Strudel19 5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    hSDN
    hSDN