2 gap years, am I screwed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

galaxyandstars

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Applying in 2015. I graduated in Spring of 2013, then from 2013-2014 I volunteered at a hospital, worked, tried building up my hours, etc. From now to 2015, I'm doing research at a hospital and restudying for the MCAT. I was suppose to apply this cycle but put off my MCAT retake until September and voided (when I shouldn't because I was getting ~30 FL scores). It's too late and I know I won't get in anywhere. I now understand it was such a stupid mistake. So, now I'm getting myself ready to prep for the new MCAT (if need be). I'm continuing w/ my job + shadowing, etc (and have a 3.7 culm GPA).

Is it bad that I am applying in 2015, even though I graduated in 2013? I obviously will not make the same mistake and submit first day as I am 100% ready, mentally. Sucks that I'll attend med school when I'm like 26 though.

EDIT: shiz. meant 3 gap years, apparently.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
The average matriculation age is 24-25, so you'd be about average. Congratulations.

Reactions: 1 users
No. You're fine. Some people take 20 gap years.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
The average matriculation age is 24-25, so you'd be about average. Congratulations.
I liked your pre-edited response better.. this one's too sassy. :D
EDIT: I read that as "you'd be ABOVE average". So I take that back.

Thanks for the response @Afford.

There's nothing wrong with taking a second gap year. I know someone who took two years off because he couldn't get in, got in and is set to start a trauma surgery residency. He seems to think that those two years off really didn't matter in the long run.

Reactions: 1 user
I liked your pre-edited response better.. this one's too sassy. :D
EDIT: I read that as "you'd be ABOVE average". So I take that back.

Thanks for the response @Afford.