2005 Matched/ Scramble List by Asians

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gynecologist

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
good day to all IMG's!!!
please post where you matched (specialty/hospital/state/from which country originally).
this will serve to inspire all IMG's on the match process.
keep the IMG torch burning and light the way!

:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

OB-GYN; SUNY-BUFFALO; NEW YORK; FROM MANILA, PHILIPPINES
:idea:

gynecologist said:
Which med school are you from ? Congratulations, nice to hear someone from the phils matching to such a tough residency. You inspire me. I am only beginning my first year med this June in UST.

Members don't see this ad :)
gynecologist said:

-Neat! Congratulations! Hope I could do the same as you did! I'm going to feu this june.. any good feedback with that school? especially the chances to get into a residency program in the states.

congrats, gynecologist!

am a 30 years old male, graduated from a humble medical school in manila last 1998.
i am not the best student in my class.

i did two years of residency in the philippines, and fate made me to look again in the prospect of tackling the USMLE's and matching for a residency slot in the USA.

i studied by myself for the USMLE steps 1 and 2 and the CSA.
got all the books and materials which i thought are necessary and read them. by heart.

also, i assimilated all the pieces of advice i got from everyone. littelest they may seem, but all were nuggets of gold to me.

i sought our 'elders' to write me strong letters of recommendation and asked my school's dean to make me a very good dean's letter.

my personal statement i composed for a whole week. make that two. for it to be outstanding, yet modest and true. i even asked a friend's friend to help me out.