2022 DAT Breakdown (26AA / 26TS / 20 PAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stressed_elephant

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I took my DAT a few days ago and wanted to post a breakdown, as they’ve been so helpful for me over the past few months. I received a 26AA / 26TS / 20 PAT and I studied for 2.5 months during the summer using primarily DAT Booster and Anki!

Timeline:
I studied for 5 hours a day, 6 days a week during my summer break. I found that I didn’t really have the stamina to treat studying like a 9-5 job, so I just tried to make sure those 5 hours were being used wisely. I followed the Booster study schedule closely for all content review, but after I’d reviewed all the content (took about 7 weeks) I changed my studying schedule. I had access to my friend’s Bootcamp account, so I took a practice test every day/once every two days for the last 3 weeks to make sure I would complete all 20 practice exams.

ANKI- My general Anki tips are as follows:
  1. Watch videos to adjust your settings! Anki is really confusing at first, but because you’re likely studying for several months it’s helpful to know how to adjust settings like daily limits, display order, and lapses.
  2. Flag cards! The Booster deck has thousands of cards, and I don’t think it’s a good use of time to try and study and review every single card– I would flag cards as I reviewed the deck, and after I moved into my practice test phase I would only review the cards I’d flagged. Even if you know the answer quickly, it still takes a lot of time to click through so many cards that you already know. For bio, getting exposed to all the content is much more important than memorizing every tiny detail that is present in the Anki decks.