2022 DAT Strategy Breakdown (24 AA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Luke0edwards

Reaction score

renderTimingPixel.png

Howdy y’all! I hope your studies are going well. I took the DAT two weeks ago and got a 24 AA with a 20 in QR. I studied with DAT Bootcamp and I’d love to share my study strategies that might be helpful to you. I am so grateful for the opportunity I had to study for the DAT with Bootcamp. I know not everyone has the time or finances to utilize this program, so I count myself lucky to have had access. I stuck with the Bootcamp study schedule, with some variation to focus on my weaker sections. I studied for 61 days before taking the test and took all the pretests available on DAT Bootcamp. Each morning I did the daily warm-up and quick study, but about a month before the test I substituted that warm up and quick study with reviewing my weak areas and problems I kept missing.

For Biology, I read the Bootcamp Biology Notes twice as the schedule directed and only really dove into the lengthier Biology Academy Notes a few times for my weakest areas like photosynthesis and taxonomy. I kept the taxonomy cheat sheet in a pinned tab on my browser all the time so I could read through it about once a day along with some flashcards I made. I found that teaching the taxonomies and their characteristics to a friend on a whiteboard helped me recall what I studied and discover where my knowledge was lacking. I completed and tagged all the biobites questions for each biology unit after having read the notes on that section twice. After finishing the biobites for each biology section I would then take the practice questions. This certainly took a lot of time but was a worthy investment. On car trips, I would ask my friends to review all the red and yellow tagged questions I was learning and reviewing.