27-y/o nursing student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Molyb

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a long and sort of meandering academic history...

I got an BS in Biochemistry from a state university in 2006. I graduated with a pretty decent (3.6+) GPA, although I started out at a community college and took more than 4 years to complete the degree. It was my intention at the time to go to grad school, but I didn't enjoy my undergraduate research experiences (3 semesters in a Drosophila lab) at all, and took some time out to reconsider. I worked as a self-employed math and science tutor for a couple of years, and also put in some time substitute teaching in the public high schools, including a couple of longer-term jobs.

I have always been attracted to medicine (for the usual helping-people reasons, won't elaborate since this is already a novel:p), and I decided to do a second degree BSN program and go the RN->ARNP route. However, halfway through my nursing studies I had to take a leave of absence for personal reasons. I'm now looking at returning next spring to finish the program, but in the interim I've begun to feel I made a mistake. I love basic science, and I'm not sure I'll really be satisfied as a mid-level practitioner.

My prereqs were all completed in my first degree, and with solid grades.I have some kind of standardized-test-taking superpower, so I think I can start serious studying early next year and reasonably expect to own the MCAT in April. Since I've been tutoring and teaching all this time the material is still pretty fresh.

Questions:
1. Is it realistic to look forward to applying next year? I will be concentrating on state schools as a FL resident.