2nd Bac Degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

marukome

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a undergraduate degree from the University of Texas at Austin in Japanese but due to an incredible amount of slacking during my undergrad years, I graduated only barely with a GPA of 2.078. Due to the worthless nature of my degree, I enlisted in the military and became a linguist. My dream has always been to become a doctor, but slacking during college temporarily derailed that hope.

The military sent me to the Defense Language Institute (Regionally Accredited Community College) to learn Korean. I finally applied myself in my studies and graduated with my A.A. degree in Korean with a GPA of 3.9. I'm now 1.5 years from finishing my contract with the military and I've been planning for my academic future.

With the passage of the new GI Bill, it's now financially feasible for me to go back to school for another Bachelor's degree. I originally wanted to apply to attend UCLA and major in Biochemistry. However, upon reading their information page about transfer students, I found out that they don't accept transfer students for 2nd Baccalaureate degrees. I did some more digging and it seems like most halfway decent universities are the same way. They either don't accept students for a 2nd Bachelor's degree or they are extremely restrictive.

I'm currently considering three options:

1. Attend a community college after I separate from the military and apply as a "60 credit hour transfer student" after a year or two. But can your past educational record follow you? If not, I can apply now with just my DLI A.A. degree as a transfer student.
  2. Attend a no-name university willing to accept students for 2nd Bac degrees. I really want to go to school in the Bay Area (California) so I think that's the most limiting factor in this case.