2nd Degree extra year or no. Lowish GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Venc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi :hello:

I see a bunch of these and they are very helpful due to all you guys' answers. So I would like to bother you guys a little and see what I should do. Hope I'm not :beat:

I graduated from a great school with a BA Anthropology GPA ~2.8X. Mainly because I was still learning English at the time. I just knew a little when I enter because my HS (which I came in to 10th grade) taught in Spanish :(. So it was fairly hard to learn English.
I done about a year of volunteering in a Daycare research facility, and worked as a Psych Tech when I was at that school. And other non-related jobs

Now I'm a post-bac at a different school as a Bio major (probably going to finish it, maybe get a double major). And right now taking only science courses. Next semester would be my second non-science (Calc) class and 4th semester in this school.
I volunteer at a hospital, I help students with Genetics (through a school program) and I'm in a genetics/microbiology research lab.
My GPA in this school is 3.2 (horribly low :cry: for what I see here) but with an upper trend mainly in the upper level courses (Genetics/Cell bio)

What do you guys think? Should I even apply next year? I'm planning on enrolling on a MCAT course next semester so I could take the exam on May and get the results by June ~20-21.

Or am I kind of bad and I should wait another year see what happens?

Ohh I would also be the first of my family to obtain anything more than a Bachelor's or more than one for that matter

Thank you :love:

Members don't see this ad.

Calculus does count as a science class for MD.

Unless your GPA is over 3.4, it won't be a good idea to apply to MD.

Members don't see this ad :)
What is your primary language?

Have you considered applying to DO medical schools, which would be acloser match for yor stats?