"2nd tier" PM&R programs, other questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chicagobull

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a newb to this forum, but have been lurking for a while. I have a few questions about PMR residency programs/applying. I hope you guys can help me out, as my advisors don't seem to be very knowledgeable about this field (I don't know if anyone from my school has ever gone into PMR).

A little background about myself: I am a 3rd year (MD) student, originally from Chicago, and would like to go to a larger city, preferably somewhere warm or in a "happening" city (ie, a place that is fun for a single 25 year old). My top choice would be AZ, but there aren't any programs out there. I get outstanding clinical evals from my attendings, but my shelf exam scores seem to keep preventing me from getting an "honors" grade. I have no doubt that I will get some great letters of recommendations from my IM attendings. My board scores and preclinical grades were below average, although i have not had to remediate anything. I have avg to above avg extracurriculars (ie student government, 2nd author on a research paper that will be published, volunteering, etc.) I plan on doing a 2 week rotation in PMR at my home university right after my 3rd year is completed in June, just to make sure I like it, and am looking into doing an away rotation in PMR sometime in September (I only have one shot, due to scheduling issues) to get a letter/audition.