3.21 gpa from top ten undergad college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IlovePediatrics

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to student doctor.
My gpa is a 3.21 and my science is 3.15 coming from a top 10 undergrad college with a major in biological sciences.

I am taking the mcat in january as I graduated this year. What are my chances given I have volunteered, shadowed, and researched plenty.

Members don't see this ad.

3.2 is pretty low. I'm sure you don't need me to tell you that. Unfortunately, a "top ten undergrad" won't excuse that either. A 3.2 will not count you completely out at all, but you need to rock the MCAT.

Members don't see this ad :)
To get a better perspective of where you stand, you should consider what are the averages of applicants from YOUR undergrad. Going to a top undergrad is great but it doesn't help if the avg GPA of those who apply (let alone those who get accepted) is like a 3.7 as it is at some top schools. However if you went to say Caltech or MIT, that maybe a different story. Even still, schools probably care just as much about what classes you took (think engineering/physical sciences vs humanities) and if you really challenged yourself. That being said, make sure you ace your MCAT to compensate for the GPA. Best of luck.