3.3 GPA, 36R MCAT, URM. Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Argonautical

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a 3.2 GPA, both science and cumulative. I should be able to bring it up to a 3.3 by the time I apply in June 2011. I studied like crazy and pulled a 36R (12/12/12) on the MCAT! My degree will be in Bioinformatics (Basically a Biology/Computer Science hybrid).

Here's my credentials:

Pros:
1. URM (Native American)
2. HUGE upward trend in GPA
3. Tons of physician shadowing with quality clinical exposure
4. Tons of volunteering at hospitals and hospice facilities
5. Excellent Letters of Recommendation
6. 36R MCAT!!

Cons:

1. 3.3 GPA
2. Will have one incomplete prerequisite course at time of application, unless I wait until August 2011 to apply. But I'm told by EVERYONE to apply EARLY. Advice?
3. BIG ISSUE: I have a whole semester of W's on my transcript due to a very tragic death in my family. Advice on dealing with this?

I'm open to DO and Caribbean but would really rather not.

Chances? Advice?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You'll be fine for a US MD/DO school, so don't even consider the Caribbean. You're right about applying early, schools will see that you have one pre-req to complete and they'll be fine with that because you have to submit all of your final transcripts anyway.

Go ahead and apply as early as possible and either use secondaries to explain the semester of W's and/or it'll come up in interviews anyway.

Apply broadly to both MD and DO schools and something will pan out. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
With some research under your belt, I think US MD is more than attainable. Don't even consider Caribbean. You are nowhere near needing to waste your time there.