3.33 science GPA 3.5 overall only 501 MCAT :(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kbmhtx

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here is my story, my science GPA was once a 2.67 due to my own laziness and disorganization, i was able to pull it up to a 3.33, overall its a 3.5 ish. I unfortunately took the mcat multiple times got a 501, i actually gave it everything to get that 501 :(, studied for 8 months straight, I guess the curve was not in my favor considering I walked out the exam feeling extremely confident. I have over 150 hours of volunteering both clinical and non clinical, over 150 hours of shadowing, currently enrolled in a CNA certificate course right now. I am using this year to improve my resume since I am aware that my numbers are nothing to brag about. I'm hoping that what makes me stand out is that I have an engineering degree and worked in an oil field for 2 years before returning to school. But regardless anyone have any suggestions. I personally feel that I have plateaued at a 501.

Members don't see this ad.

You could receive interviews at some DO schools with your stats and I suggest these:
ATSU-SOMA
TUNCOM
UIWSOM
ACOM
ARCOM
NYIT-AR
WCU-COM
UP-KYCOM
WVSOM
MU-COM
LECOM (all schools)
PCOM (all schools)
UNECOM
Apply in the next month and submit all your secondaries by October.

Members don't see this ad :)
What were your other MCAT scores? Where do you live(State)? URM?
first one was i believe a 489, then 496, and then a 501, and I live in Texas and not an URM, I am aware though that getting into a Texas school is already out of the question

You could receive interviews at some DO schools with your stats and I suggest these:
ATSU-SOMA
TUNCOM
UIWSOM
ACOM
ARCOM
NYIT-AR
WCU-COM
UP-KYCOM
WVSOM
MU-COM
LECOM (all schools)
PCOM (all schools)
UNECOM
Apply in the next month and submit all your secondaries by October.