3.49cgpa 3.47sgpa chemical engineer two gap years DO, WAMC, 503 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sussieQ2005

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am retaking mcat in the spring to reapply in summer 2020. I was applying this past cycle but my dad passed away and I didn't have enough money so I was careless and did not take the time to do it well. It sucks because I will be seen as a re-applicant.

My experience:

-I worked as a research assistance for 7 months full time at UPMC
-Was a d1 runner for a year and a half in college
-volunteered 100 hours as a GOTR coach
-shadowed do for 10 hours and MD for 70
-worked 100 hours as a cna
now working as a chemical engineer to make money, am going to study to take mcat again (as it will expire because took it in 7/2018 and I am not looking to start med school until fall 2021). I hope to get a 506 at least, unfortunately this will be my third time taking it. However I am studying after work for 10 months this time.
-I will also shadow DO and volunteer during the next year and a half.
I only applied to PCOM and CCOM previously (PCOM my letters of rec were not all sent in, CCOM I never completed the secondaries). However I think it is seen as both schools denied me. Can I reapply to them? Where should I apply?

Members don't see this ad.

1st MCAT Score: 498
2nd: 503 (studied for 2-3 months)
3rd: started studying July 23rd 2019 and will take it in May 2020, hope to do much better.

state residency: PA

Members don't see this ad :)
If your MCAT is 500 or higher you could receive interviews at the majority of DO schools. 508 or higher and you could receive MD interviews also and you would be competitive for all DO schools. Post your scores here next year when available and I can advise you on schools to apply to.

Reactions: 1 user
Thank you, Faha, I will. I really appreciate your insight.