3.8/32Q List of Schools Advice Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

music2doc

Student of Mad Doctoring
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am wondering if I could get some advice on my list of schools to apply to.

I am a CO resident and have a 3.8+ cGPA and sGPA with a 32Q MCAT.

I am somewhat nontraditional in that I took some of my prereqs right after graduating and, while I could claim URM status, I am not doing so because I do not feel I have had sufficient interaction with that part of my heritage (i.e., I marked myself as "Caucasian"). I am also fluent in Spanish at an advanced (but not native) level. I did not list it as a language I speak on AMCAS; however, it was mentioned throughout my ECs (e.g., that I interpret for Spanish-speaking pts).

Here is roughly what I have:

• 1.5 years of part-time hospital experience in both in-patient and ED areas (tech and clerical, including scribing) including some training experience
  • 1.5 years of clinical volunteering including some supervising/training
  • 1 yr training in a martial art (hobby)
  • 3 yrs teaching & tutoring
  • 2.5 yrs non-clinical community service
  • 1.5 yrs in leadership of pre-health professions/pre-med program (led successful initiative to gain funding for new program and new advisor and subsequent multidisciplinary approach to pre-med/pre-health program)
  • 48 hrs shadowing + many hrs of scribing
  • 0.75 yrs in a non-hospital clinical position (included administering meds, supervising, training, etc.)
  • Research: First author/project lead on 1 national presentation and 1 institutional/regional presentation
  • Research: 3 projects over 4 yrs
  • International Service: 4 trips (2-12 weeks in length) and 1 planned for next year (a major interest of mine is international health)
  • 3 yrs of peer mentoring (including leadership and training of mentors)
  • 4 yrs of music-related jobs and activities