3 DO letters = overkill?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
N

NoPMHx

I have 3 DO doctors who are happy to write me rec letters. To med schools' eyes, is getting 3 letters from DO doctors an overkill?

Members don't see this ad.

At least one but some diversity of opinion and perspective is called for. Try a DO, non-science faculty, science faculty and maybe volunteer/research/EC mentor

Get them all, store them in interfolio. If one speaks to a certain skill or experience that fits a specific school's mission you could then choose to send a specific letter.

I've heard of people sending their letters to an advisor or other third party in order to get feedback as to their strength, but I'm not sure if that would be considered ethical.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Meanwhile students are having trouble just finding one....

Reactions: 5 users

Last edited:
Being a non-traditional student, I had 10 letters from physicians and professors stacked up at my university through the years. The letter service thought I was trying for a faculty position at another school...

Don't sweat the small stuff, take all letters and choose which ones you want to send. However, for the love of god, don't send more than 5 LORs. Three DO LORs is just overkill, just pick one or two. Then have 1 science/1 non-science/1 extracurricular to have some some diversity...

I'm having:
2- community college professors (1 phD and 1 MS)
2- physician letters (DO & MD)
1- community service supervisor.

Now I'm a 1st year medical student.
As long as your letter speak about you and show the adcom that letter writers actually know you on personal levels, any letter is good. The quality is what worth talking, not quantity

Three DO letters is SUPER unique and will make you stand out!!! It's awesome, definitely do it!