3 Options - Need Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zifish

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Fellow Nontrads,
I'm at a crossroads and could seriously use some advice, and I'll give some background for reference. I was a really great student and have some incredible EC's that would make me stand out, but I'll have trouble convincing adcoms of my candidacy because of two reasons, GPA and MCAT. I have 3 semesters of failed coursework taken over 10yrs ago while battling homelessness, bringing my GPA down a whole point to 2.7, with well over 200 credits under my belt at this point. I'm 30 now, married, my wife works full time and I'm a stay at home dad to our 2yr old during the day, and have returned to school last year to finish my undergrad in the evenings, earning deans list my last two semesters and finishing my BS in psych. My MCAT is an issue because it's been 13yrs since I've taken the general science courses and my foundation has dissolved, making it tough to build upon with test prep. Also, since daycare isn't an option, I was only able to dedicate a few hours nightly to mcat prep, and it's evident that this isn't sufficient since I scored a 496 in March and 494 in July. My content knowledge isn't there, so I would need at least a year to review the course content extensively and then redo prep to score higher, but that isn't an option at the moment due to our living situation. This leaves me with three options that I can think of, and could use some advice on what to do: