32 old non-trad from foreign country

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aizhanmen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I`am 32 years old and I`m freshman at idaho state univer. I moved to The US 5 years ago and gained residency. I dont have much clinical experience, may be only when i worked for about 6 months as CNA in a hospital back in my country. Most of time i worked as a server in the bars and restaurants because i needed to support myself and my parents. I couldnt afford any college and now in The US i have a chance to get a degree. I always had a dream to be a doctor-surgeon. I`m taking English(basic writing) class right now at ISU and i have B, but i`m trying to get higher grade. I used to be really good in high school and i still remember chemistry, physic and math well. I know i have to take all those classes and get a bachelor degree before i can apply to US medical school. Also i know that MCAT is extremely hard especially verbal part for non-native english speaker. I`m willing to work hard to learn English, but i`m worried that i`ll not able to impress an admission committee. They will probably ask me what i did 10 years and my answer is i worked as a server in restaurants because i had to take care of my sick mom. I didnt have any degree to work somewhere else. I couldnt afford any college. I need some advice. What should i do? I`m going to volunteer at local hospital and try to get letter of recommendation. How do you guys think what else i can do to improve my application ? Please help with some advice. Am i too old to be a doctor-surgeon?

Members don't see this ad.