Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

33 MCAT and 4.0 G.P.A.

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by Jenny9871234, 05.16.14.

1. SDN is made possible through sponsorships and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Jenny9871234

Jenny9871234

Hey guys! So I just came off of taking my MCAT and just got a 33 MCAT (12 P, 13 B, 8 V). I know that it may not be the most balanced scores, but I was hoping you guys could give me an idea as to how my chances are to med schools? I am currently a FL resident in Tallahassee and was going to apply to schools all over FL and around the U.S., as well. A few that I plan on applying to include:

Reach Schools

JHU
    UChicago
    Tufts
    Columbia
    Duke
    Mayo

Within Reach

UNC
    Penn St.
    Brown
    UMiami
    USF
    UCF
    Kentucky
    Louisville
    WVU

Safety

FSU
    Southern Illinois

Other information:

- 4.0 GPA (Biochem major)
    - Attended two intense research programs over the summer, as well as, research during the academic year
    - Shadowed 5/6 physicians - different specialties
    - Volunteered - 150 + hrs. (Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Hospital camps, VA, etc)
    - Leadership is evident

Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Furthermore, if you have any additions to make to the list that would be great too!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. masaraksh

masaraksh 5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    My advice would be to replace JHU, Columbia, Duke, Mayo, UNC, and Brown with others. Your app seems avg at best for the first 3. Mayo has a tiny class size. And for the last two you would be OOS which in all likelihood will mean you're wasting money on the apps.

Replace with:
    UVA
    Case
    ...? OSU, Rochester, Sinai, BU maybe?

4. gyngyn