MD 38 MCAT, 3.87 GPA...help with schools please!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fermata125

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! First of all, sorry about the length of this post...I'm relatively new to SDN (been lurking since last summer, but made barely any comments) and I've been freaking out about where to apply based on my stats.

That said, I would be so appreciative if somebody could take a look at my stats, info and tentative school list and provide some comments or suggestions about where I should apply! I'm doing the best I can with MSAR (yes I purchased it), school websites, books, etc. but I feel like people who are "in the game" would have a better idea. So...here goes!

Stats:
Not-URM, not disadvantaged
New York resident
Just graduated (May 2014) from 4-year private institution in NY; B.S. in Molecular Genetics; music minor
3.87 cumulative GPA (Science GPA is likely around there, but I haven't calculated it yet)
38 MCAT (12/11/15)--this was my second try (April 2014). First try was a 31 (12/08/11) (August 2013)

Clinical/Research ECs:
~200 hours shadowing an ophthalmologist (right now my desired specialty) at a Bronx clinic. Included some patient interaction, and observation of several eye surgeries.
~160 hours intern at an orthodontist's practice; included a lot of direct patient contact
~350 hours research at NIH as a Summer Intern. I worked in the National Eye Institute; included a visit to the clinic for some shadowing. Got a poster out of it, which I presented at my school's poster session.
~200 hours as an unpaid volunteer assisting with ophthalmic/epidemiology research (data collection/organization). Got a poster out of it.