38M, 3.95 - Where should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

weroiu

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a 3.95 G.P.A. and got a 38M on the MCATs. I have some clinical experience shadowing a doctor, but not much, and have done a summer research internship. I have absolutely no idea as to what schools I should apply to. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Members don't see this ad.

Choosing wisely from the top 25 would be a good start.

The good news is that you have GREAT GPA/MCAT. With those numbers you have a shot at the top programs in the country. But..

Those schools usually require extensive research and publications. Also you lack a very important criteria...clinical experience. Many people have 1+ years of clinical experience applying and its pretty much a requirement these days. Shadowing is not really considered clinical experience.

When do you plan on applying?

Can you list your EC's?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the replies. Yes, I definitely realize that my clinical experience is weak. I'll be applying this summer, so I have some time to get some more experience, but not much. I think my extracurricular activities will be pretty helpful. Through not diverse, they are extensive. I am a pianist, drummer and composer - I am double majoring in biology and music. I have played many impressive classical piano pieces, performed at recitals and have had many of my compositions performed (and recorded) by other students as well as faculty at my school. Also, although I'm skeptical about the value of them, I gave in to Phi Beta Kappa and gave them $80 as well as some other one so I could put some Greek letters on my resume, which always looks good. I suppose it could be a valid (and true) excuse that much of my extracurricular time is devoted to music rather than gaining clinical experience.