3rd time reapplicant in 2018

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HopefulFutDoc2019

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on SDN after lurking for many years for resources. As indicated in the title, I will be a 3rd time reapplicant in 2018. I applied once 3 years ago and the second time last year. First time I received 1 interview and the second time I had 3.

I am an ORM male and am SES disadvantaged (E01). The money issue forced me to live at home for college and commute 3 hours total each day for college (NYC private school). I do not plan on checking any disadvantage status and have not done so for the past two cycles since education wise, I was not disadvantaged.

First cycle:
MCAT:32-35 (2014) GPA:~3.65-3.75 sGPA: 3.9-4.0
Volunteer: Helped out at the local hospital near my home. Nothing noteworthy, mostly just helping the nurses and doctors out. Volunteers are restricted from doing a lot of things. I did help out with translating (non-medical) things. About 400-500 hours.
Shadowing: None
Research: None
Apps complete ~mid August
SUNY Downstate (interview)
Cornell
Mount Sinai
Columbia
SUNY Upstate
NYU
Albany
Stony Brook
Hofstra
Brown
Einstein
One or two additional schools I don't remember.

First cycle, I think I lacked the maturity and the experience (especially research) in order to secure an acceptance. It took a while to land a paid research position and it might have been a bit too late for my second cycle. Before the paid research position, I had to work in my parents' mom-and-pop store in order to support myself.

Second cycle:
MCAT: 518 (131, 126, 132, 129) GPA:3.7 sGPA: 3.9-4.0
Volunteer: Nothing new before submitting application. Tutoring underserved HS students mid cycle. ~60 hours.
Shadowing: ~100-200
Research: Translational research started after submitting application (July 2016). Full time job