3rd year medical students needs some advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LemonLime

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently I am a third year medical student who has a love for anesthesiology. However, I have also found out that I am at the bottom third of my class. My overall rank is pretty bad but my third year rank is about middle third and I have a step 1 scores in the higher 230s.
I had a rough two years and want to know, with anesthesia becoming very competitive, if my overall class rank matters.
Is anesthesia still a possibility for me or should I consider other specialities??

Members don't see this ad.

don't ever count yourself out. and dont worry about what is competetive. but you would be fine anyways....your step 1 score will save you.

Anesthesia is definitely getting more competetive and it is quite hard to get into the "top" programs. Looking at the unfilled positions this year, spots can be hard to come by period. However, given the sheer number of spots in the country, I'd guess you'll be able to find a position if you're willing to apply widely. That's not to say you won't get the program of your choosing, but playing your odds is a must to ensure a match.

Your Step 1 is competitive and it sounds like your clerkships went well. The only place your class rank will show up is your Dean's letter, so try and offset that by strengthening your other recs. Do an anesthesia elective early. Get strong rec letters from people who know you. If your school has a big name chair, get a letter from him/her too. It can be a stressful process but in the end it tends to work out.

Best of luck.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the advice- it makes me feel a little better.
So being in the bottom third of the class doesnt restrict you from getting interviews for a competitive residency?