4th year schedule

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

snaggletooth

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, I tried posting this on auntminnies, but got almost no feedback.
I'm halfway done w/ 3rd year (I'm a med student) and am thinking of doing about 3 aways in rads. Does this sound like a good #? too many? My real dilemma however, is when to try and set these up. I'm finishing 3rd year around the end of May which leaves me around 3 mos until I'm going to want to have my app OUT. So I'm thinking to start my sub-i right out of the blocks 4th year so I can get a solid medicine letter and then follow up w/ 3 straight rad aways so I can try to impress the attendings and residents at the programs I'm interested in. Does this sound like a good plan of attack? Is this too many rad electives crammed into one for a 3rd year? How long is the average rad elective? I'm assuming 2-4 wks. Thanks for replies.

Members don't see this ad.

Most rotations last 4 weeks. Will you take a Rad elective at your own institution? This way when you do your away rotationw, you would have some fundamental knowledge already. I would recommend doing only two Rad electives. If you do your subintership in July, then August and September Rads, you will be at your home institution when interview letters and some interviews start in October. Good luck.