6 years undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

candleburn001

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!
I just found out this site last week and i want to thank all the members here first that has putted the time to answer questions to confused predents.
My situation probably are different from other people:
I came here when i was 17 years old. Take 3 years of community college, along those 3 years i have to take ESL classes and pre-math class, so that's why i did not transfer in 2 years.
My GPA for cc is 3.7
After 3 years, i transfered to UCLA. I studied my tail off in almost 3 years and only got 3.40.
So my question is:
I complete my undergrad in almost 6 years, is it a turn off to go to dental school? Should i explain in my ps the reason is my English and i have to take tons of ESL classes.
Going from 3.7 in cc to 3.4 in UCLA, do you guys think that the committe will considered i am dumb?
I also doing 1.5 year research and shadowing for 60 hours and mentoring.
Am i competitive enought to apply this cycle?
Should i consider master?
Please be honest with me

Members don't see this ad.

1. I complete my undergrad in almost 6 years, is it a turn off to go to dental school?
2. Should i explain in my ps the reason is my English and i have to take tons of ESL classes.
3. Going from 3.7 in cc to 3.4 in UCLA, do you guys think that the committe will considered i am dumb?
4. I also doing 1.5 year research and shadowing for 60 hours and mentoring.
Am i competitive enought to apply this cycle?
5. Should i consider master?

Hello, my bruin friend. I'm being super honest, so don't think I'm just encouraging you.

1. No. Many students transfer after 3 years. And many students spend almost 5 years to graduate even though they entered the university as freshmen.

2. You may mention it. PS is mainly for why you want to become a dentist.