A Bit Concerned

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kaylak05

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a pre-med student at a community college so I'm on a different path than most of you and have different requirements in order to get my associates degree before I transfer to a university for a bachelors degree.

I'm currently in a summer semester trigonometry class because my school requires you take trig before taking pre-calc because they combine pre-calc with some trig. Long story short, pre-calc requires prior knowledge of trig upon entry. My dilemma is that I currently only have an 80% in Trig which is the lowest grade I've gotten thus far. I know it's not terrible but if I can't grasp trig is there any hope for me in Pre-calc, Calc 1, and Calc 2? It could be the fact that it's an accelerated course that's causing me to fall behind but I don't know for sure. I'm obviously good enough to maintain a B but it's been a struggle passing the tests because there's some things I almost have the hang of but not quite.

I'm just worried that if the fact that it's a shorter class isn't what's holding me back then I'm not going to make it through my upcoming math classes.

Members don't see this ad.

I did not take a trig class, but skipped to pre-calc 2 (at my cc we had precalc 1 and 2). I can't speak for precalc 1, but I know in precalc 2 it seemed like a lot of the trig was covered as though we had not learned it previously.

In my calc 1 class we needed to know sin, cos, tan, and their inverses. It wasn't too difficult and there was a review chapter at the beginning that was very short. I didn't do the review but I did glance over it and it seemed that sin, cos, tan and inverses dominated it. The book was for calc 1 through 3, so I can only assume that calc 2 doesn't use much trig.

Like I said, I'm not quite sure what an actual trig course consists of. Is it equivalent to college algebra?