A CNA/PCT's story. A Memorandum by c0mpletec0ntrol

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

c0mpletec0ntrol

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a patient care technician, and whether you refer to my position as a nursing assistant, PCT, co-worker, servant, or what have you, its
become blatantly clear to me that I am low man on the totem pole. I have a difficult time living in the present and not constantly focusing all my attention on the future (which is probably a characteristic of most dedicated pre-meds), and its hard for me to see the ends. I realize that its an incredible opportunity, and I'm unbelievably fortunate to have been given this position in such a unit, in such a hospital, considering the circumstances, but its extremely demanding physically and emotionally, which anyone whom has ever worked in the position will know. In the job's defense, it has allowed me to learn bedside manner which is extremely important, discover the inner workings of a unit, shadow residents and fellows, network, learn more clinical schtuff than I ever would have thought at this age and the list goes on. Therefore I would recommend it to any of you, however if you're just looking for something to get you into med school, the position will not hold your enthusiasm and after a couple months you will be doing it out of pure good will and dedication.

As of right now, all I can think about is that I cannot wait to surpass the position and be calling the shots someday. The medical aspect is lacking because aside from a few select procedures, the position doesn't call for it.

Any advice to keep me looking up would be appreciated.

AKA, Anyone who can live and appreciate the present rather than constantly looking towards a "better" future could also make an appreciated post.

Members don't see this ad.