A few questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmacy CSS

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm a freshman this year at a coummunity college. I plan on doing the 3 year plan before applying to pharmacy school. A few questions:

If I have a 3.5 gpa and good pcat scores, will I have a good chance of getting into pharmacy school even though I'm at a community college?

And also, does it help my chances if my grandfather graduated from the pharmacy school I am applying to?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Yeah, you probably would have a good chance. I don't think schools take into consideration if you had a family member who went to the school. But I could be wrong.

Hey everyone, I'm a freshman this year at a coummunity college. I plan on doing the 3 year plan before applying to pharmacy school. A few questions:

If I have a 3.5 gpa and good pcat scores, will I have a good chance of getting into pharmacy school even though I'm at a community college?

And also, does it help my chances if my grandfather graduated from the pharmacy school I am applying to?

Thanks!

If you do a search, there are a few topics where people talk about taking classes at CCs vs. University. I don't think it matters but yet again I have never taken a single class at a CC. About the family member - without trying to sound mean - I honestly hope that it's irrelevant. Not only that would be extremely unfair to the rest of us but I also fail to see how having a family member in the same profession makes you a good candidate for pharmacy school - it's more about what YOU are capable of. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
Your stats are better than average so the analysis boils down to adcoms' take on community colleges.

I remember my school asking about family members who graduated and/or are faculty members at my school of application, but I don't know how much bearing it had.