A little help (when things aren't going well)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Navier

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Fellow SDNers, I'm looking for some quick advice. Currently I'm an undergrad in engineering, Junior year, and I'm conducting research under 2 PI's (same project). I've been working for them for roughly a year now, but these particular PI's have EXTREMELY high expectations. So high, that they've had 3 PhD students in the last 5 years combined.. bottom line: most students can't handle the intensity. As a ugrad, and this being my first research experience, I was expecting some support on the project. Yeah I've had some, but not much. The PI's basically tell me to figure it out. Prime example: whenever I ask them to help analyze data (that I'm unfamiliar with) they tell me to figure it out and I'd better come back and tell them what it means. Long story short, over the fast year things haven't gone well. Not much data has been collected because many things fail, and nobody has gotten this concept to work. They are still pushing me to get good results and to figure it out (and they're disappointed in my performance); they also tell me that I'm essentially a grad student (though I'm not). With all my courses and reports, I just haven't had time to do research, especially since I'm being unpaid. I used to put in 30 hr weeks, but I just don't have the time anymore. What would your advice be? I'm thinking I need to talk to them (though I've tried, but they refuse to let me cut back on hours). What are your thoughts and advice for this? Anybody else experience this? Thanks so much for all your help in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Point as an undergrad is honestly to learn stuff first before you try to do some things on your own. If you don't have a grip by now, then move on to a different lab.