1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

A little info about NYU

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by jchen1161732, Feb 27, 2007.

1. jchen1161732

Pre-Dental
    I've seen a lot of posts on this forum about people wondering if they should choose NYU over other schools so I thought I'd write my thoughts about the school. I'm currently a D3 student. If you have a choice of going to any other school please save yourself the money and hassle and go. No matter where you go you'll find a lot of flaws with the school you choose. Let me explain my complaints with NYU.

1. Its a very expensive school but I don't feel its worth it for the clinical education you get. I don't think the value of the education is worth a $70,000/ year tuition bill. Living in NYC can be very expensive and if I could do it over again I would prefer to go some place smaller. There is honestly very little time to enjoy all NYC offers.

2. We started out with 232 people at the beginning of our first year and currently we have a little under 200. NYU has done a lot to try and better their reputation of being a weed out school but we still lose a lot of students. With such a big class size, no one will give you personalized attention that you may get at another school. A lot of students tranfer and drop out but the majority are dismissed.