A question for my fellow J.D.s out there

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tofurkey

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi J.D.s,

I have yet another J.D. question for ya'll. As you may remember from my last J.D. thread, I graduated from law school and then immediately (the next week in fact) entered a post-bacc. I am almost done with that post-bacc now and will apply this June. My question to you--both successful applicants and those who have not applied yet--is:

how did you show your motivation for medicine and how did you go about expressing it to adcoms?

I have done lots of clinical volunteering, shadowing, and community service volunteering. I took all my pre-med reqs in one year (plus one summer) so I could show adcoms I can handle full-time science. I plan to work next year (starting in August) during my glide year (I apply this June) as a medical assistant or nurse's aide. I will never practice law and I hope adcoms appreciate this as well as the fact that I'm forsaking a legal job with the big bucks for a nurse's aide position that will probably pay minimum wage. But I am doing this because I love medicine and want to be exposed to it even if it means also bartending nights to pay the bills.

The thing is, I never worked as a lawyer and I never worked for pay in the medical field or volunteered, for that matter, BEFORE I made the decision during my 3L year to apply to medical school. But this decision wasn't just on a whim--I have doctors in the family and was pre-med (briefly, before chemistry scared me away) in college, so I knew what medicine was all about and once I realized I could hack the hard science I decided that nothing would stop me from pursuing this lifelong dream. I definitely am 100% committed and passionate to my new career.