A Worthwhile Volunteer Opportunity?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

memeskook

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a freshman Premed student who's just about done with my first year in university. I work part time in a clinical job every other weekend. I would like to volunteer, and I know the importance of volunteering in a clinical position, but I am wondering how to know if an opportunity is worthwhile or not.

For instance, in my part-time job, I work as a CNA so I can see outright my involvement through my assistance with patients and interactions with nurses. However, the hospital I used to volunteer with during high school consists of mainly mundane activities, even in places such as the emergency department. As a civilian volunteer, we are not allowed to touch the patients in any way for obvious reasons, so I mainly handed out blankets, introducing myself to admitted patients as a volunteer and letting them know that I was available to give pillows, water, call the nurse, etc. I stayed in that position for about a year before transferring to transport, in which I helped with discharging patients and maneuvered around the hospital, from patient rooms to X-rays and back. Through my experience as a CNA, though, I am not sure if this volunteer work actually accomplishes anything in comparison. The interaction with patients and healthcare faculty is very minimal, as I am more of an outsider just lending a hand.

This contrasts with other volunteer activities I've done, such as Habitat for Humanity, in which I have been able to visibly see my impact in helping build houses and such.

Does something such as this matter? Am I just overthinking it? Are all medical-related volunteer opportunities surface level such as this?

@LizzyM

Members don't see this ad.