Academic Dishonesty(Caught) - Chances of Getting In?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PotentialNewDoctor123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

When I was a Sophomore (currently a Senior), I was caught cheating by my professor by having access to previous exams that I wasn't supposed to have on my phone. I was sent to the Dean and was given a First Offense. Also, my transcript has an F for the class and a Academic Dishonesty Flag as well.

I currently have a 3.5 GPA and a 280 on OAT. (I also plan to retake my OAT and do much better)

Can anyone let me know what are my chances of getting in? Will I get blackmailed for my wrongdoings?

Members don't see this ad.

I would apply and prepare to explain the situation and what/how you learned from it if you get invited for an interview. It's a red flag, but what happened, happened - the best you can do is move forward and learn from it.

Will I get blackmailed for my wrongdoings?

What?

I think an important question is did you know that you were not supposed to have access to those previous exams? In other words, was it intentional?

Members don't see this ad :)
I think an important question is did you know that you were not supposed to have access to those previous exams? In other words, was it intentional?

Honestly, I did know so it was intentional. It was a terrible decision and judgement at the moment. Therefore, I am wondering am I wasting my time right now and should I pursue a new career? Will I even be looked at by admissions?

Honestly, I did know so it was intentional. It was a terrible decision and judgement at the moment. Therefore, I am wondering am I wasting my time right now and should I pursue a new career? Will I even be looked at by admissions?