Academic Fresh Start Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmD413

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new here. This is my first post and I was interested if someone could provide me with some information about the academic fresh start program in Texas. I did a search on SDN to see if there were other discussions that answered my questions, but I wasn't able to find any. I apologize if this is repetitive. Here's my situation:
I graduated with a degree in biology from a University in NY in 2015. I started school there in 2001 and then left. I decided to return to the University to complete the degree. I did poorly initially, but then after returning, did very well. Despite my good grades, I graduated with a sub-par GPA. I want to pursue a Masters in PA.
I will be moving to Texas soon and wanted to apply the academic fresh start program to eliminate the courses I took over 10 years ago (which were most of my core science courses) to improve my GPA. I was told that I would have acquire a NEW bachelors degree since the courses I took prior to 2006 will be eliminated from my transcript as a result of the fresh start program, therefore invalidating the degree I just received. Is this correct?

I thought the bachelors was looked at as a separate entity since I did acquire one, but the courses I took would be invalidated. I was planning on retaking the courses that were eliminated anyway. Does anyone know more about this? Thanks so much.

Members don't see this ad.

Never heard of a fresh start program. It might not work like you expect if the PA program evaluates you on all of your academic coursework. They have the option to do that. You'll be required to file all of your academic history, and omissions, regardless of whatever arrangements you made, would be grounds for rejecting you or kicking you out of a program if discovered. Grades follow you. It sucks sometimes.