Academic Violations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bubble5687

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I have no personal experience with this, but I suppose it's the difference between the letter versus the spirit of the question:

Were you ever the recipient of any action for unacceptable academic performance, or were you ever the recipient of any action for conduct violations by any college or school? *

Though it sounds like the answer is "yes" either way. If it was unofficial, are you willing to live with the possibility of an ADCOM finding out down the line?

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't really see how this would be cheating. I mean, if you didn't get the formulas from your friend, couldn't you have just as easily gotten them from your text book? Am I missing something here?

I'm not sure if anyone here will be able to answert that. Why don't you call a few schools that you're applying to and ask them? It can't hurt.

I'm not sure if anyone here will be able to answert that. Why don't you call a few schools that you're applying to and ask them? It can't hurt.

Good advice. Just call a few schools (probably no need to even give your name if you don't want to) and see what they say.

I do respect though that you are taking this so seriously. Obviously you know you messed up and have learned from the mistake. :thumbup:

I sincerely hope that everything works out for you! :)

I would have to ask you if this incident is noted anywhere on your academic record. If not, then don't bother shooting yourself in the foot before you even apply.

I was in a similar situation in college where my frat was disciplined by the university. We were all on probation for a semester but it did not go on our school records. My friends and I had no trouble applying to med/law/dental school without reporting anything.