Accelerated BSN program to NP (for those with a degree in other than nursing)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Moki1984

Reaction score
Good afternoon.

For those unaware, my current situation has me considering either a PA or NP route with a focus on psych. I have a Bachelors in Psych, minored in Bio and I have been working at my hospital for 7 years. I need a couple science prereqs for either path (such as chemistry) but I have most of them.

In looking at the programs to get your BSN in little over a year, which prepares you to enter into the NP program, what have been your experiences? Anything specific you felt was the most difficult? Also, did you do it mostly online or in person?

Just trying to get a feel for everyone's experiences, hear from perspectives that have already done this. I am still undecided on NP or PA

Members don't see this ad.

My BSN was online, it wasn't the 12-14 month accelerated but it was done in 16 months. Mostly online. BUT i had my ADN prior, so i was licensed.

I have heard the accelerated BSN programs are pretty rigorous in terms of coursework and time obligations. But i'm sure it is doable.

Honest opinion. I would say go PA for training quality purposes.

My BSN was online, it wasn't the 12-14 month accelerated but it was done in 16 months. Mostly online. BUT i had my ADN prior, so i was licensed.

I have heard the accelerated BSN programs are pretty rigorous in terms of coursework and time obligations. But i'm sure it is doable.

Honest opinion. I would say go PA for training quality purposes.

I hear this sometimes, regarding the quality of training. Do you really think It is that much better?

I have also been warned the accelerated BSN programs can be very time consuming. Have you ever heard of someone doing it while working ?