Accept DO or Reapply...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iyrics

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have a major dilemma. I'm currently a 3rd year student at a state school (gpa 3.8, avg extracurricular) with 2 DO Acceptances (RowanSOM and NYITCOM) and 1 Wait list at Downstate. I was originally only applying for DO schools, but once I got my MCAT score (517, after scoring in the low 500s in practice tests) back in November, I rushed to complete my AMCAS application. Needless to say, it was a Hail Mary. If I don't get in this cycle, would you guys recommend taking the DO acceptances or reapplying next cycle? I have nothing against DOs, expect that the Match lists between DO and MD schools are incomparable and I'm fearful about my future opportunities.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Guys,

I have a major dilemma. I'm currently a 3rd year student at a state school (gpa 3.8, avg extracurricular) with 2 DO Acceptances (RowanSOM and NYITCOM) and 1 Wait list at Downstate. I was originally only applying for DO schools, but once I got my MCAT score (517, after scoring in the low 500s in practice tests) back in November, I rushed to complete my AMCAS application. Needless to say, it was a Hail Mary. If I don't get in this cycle, would you guys recommend taking the DO acceptances or reapplying next cycle? I have nothing against DOs, expect that the Match lists between DO and MD schools are incomparable and I'm fearful about my future opportunities.

Thank you!

I would turn down the DO acceptance and apply MD... as long as your ECs are up to par. This is a very odd situation because most would tell you to never turn down a DO acceptance, but with that GPA/MCAT combination I definitely would

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)