Accurate insight of Surgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrA

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The thread which mentioned that working as a scrub nurse is not an accurate feel for surgery got me thinking. I have been shadowing a general surgeon for about 3 months now. I see patients with him in clinic and at the hospital, I assist (aka retract) during surgeries, and basically followed him around 5 days a week during the first 2 months. While doing this, I fell in love with surgery which I previously had no interest in. Now I wonder if I have an accurate view of what surgery is really like, since many have said that being a scrub nurse does not even come close. What can I do as a soon-to-be med student to get a more realistic perspective even before rotations? Do I already have one?

Members don't see this ad.

Do you see how busy he is during a typical day? Do you get to go on rounds with him in the hospital? What kind of practice does he have?

It's always tough to know until your MS-III rotation, unfortunately.

Do you see how busy he is during a typical day? Do you get to go on rounds with him in the hospital? What kind of practice does he have?

It's always tough to know until your MS-III rotation, unfortunately.

I am literally his shadow from morning until he goes home, so I do get to see everything he does, although I still get the sense that I am not seeing the whole picture. As a measly premed, everything is just too amusing.

Members don't see this ad :)
You are not seeing the whole picture unless you are going home with him at night. You don't know how much time he does doing paperwork, keeping up with reading articles, etc. Most students and even residents underestimate this (see other thread where it was apparent that students thought surgeons didn't do anything outside of the hospital).