Active Duty Military in Need of Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SaltySailor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm currently an officer in the US Navy and would like to attend medical school. I'm only interested in US based medical schools, (DO or MD programs are fine), and I am not interested in becoming a doctor in the military, (no HPSP).

My first question is probably geared towards military members. Can the post 9/11 bill be used to pay for post-bacc programs, and/or, can it be used to pay a portion of medical school tuition? I've tried asking the veteran affairs office plenty of times, but I get opposing answers... My major in college was English, and I have no previous science experience, so I feel a post bacc program would greatly benefit me.

Secondly, I've heard of post-bacc programs that do not require an applicant to that program's medical school to take the MCAT. In other words, if the applicant's post-bacc grades are high enough, they are guaranteed a spot to that school's medical school only.

Thirdly, are post-bacc programs really worth it? If I can get around taking a post-bacc, (and avoid the excessive tuition fees), and jump right into medical school, I'd do it if I knew how. The only justification for taking a post-bacc, from the research I've done, is to "make up" for a low undergrad GPA or gain the necessary science knowledge if one has never been exposed to it before. Are taking classes at a regular community college OK? I'd imagine this is hard to do on a military lifestyle. Have any active duty personnel done this in the past?

Unfortunately, my undergrad GPA was a 2.8 :( Believe me, I've already beat myself up on this too many times... I fully realize the low GPA will be a major obstacle to overcome in my pursuit of a medical education.

Any help on these questions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.