Adderall/Ritalin

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Narcotic

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
A large number of kids in my college use these drugs during finals week/studying for the MCATs. They obviously don't have ADHD from what I know, but what are your opinions on the use of these drugs to enhance academic performance? I'm asking this because this past semester I received a horrible gpa of 2.95 (freshman). I never thought I could have ADHD, but sometimes I feel i'm not motivated/focused and feel I too should get "diagnosed". I know alot of pre-meds have used it, but seriously..isn't there anyone out there that has done well on the MCATs with a 4.0 gpa that hasn't relied on these drugs?

Members don't see this ad.

Strong username to post content...gtfo

Members don't see this ad :)
Weird, I just recently started taking vyvanse (drug very similar to adderal).

I'm in my fourth year, went through 3yrs college and highschool on no meds, was on adderal pre highschool, but stopped because it messed with my emotions. Skimmed through highschool with a 1.7, have a 3.7 in college.

From the first time I took it to now, I've been simply stunned at how difficult it used to be to force myself to study for any period of time. Now have no doubts that ADD is a legitimate condition and that I have it to some degree of severity.
Point is, if you're motivated about something, you can usually force yourself through pure willpower to achieve it. However, I really wish I had considered trying other meds earlier.