Addressing failure in CV

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sabre24667

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm a second year FM resident working on updating my CV for when I begin looking for a job as an attending. As a medical student, I failed two courses in second year and had to repeat the year, and therefore took 5 years to complete medical school. On my CV I have my dates listed as 08/2010 - 05/2015. Do I need to include an "education note" or something to explain why it took 5 years? I don't want to have any red flags on my CV. From what I've read, recruiters and employers are more concerned about addressing "gaps of time", but I can't find anything about extended time in school. Should I do a cover letter and address it there instead of a one sentence blurb under my medical school listing? I would appreciate any examples that others have used before. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone, I'm a second year FM resident working on updating my CV for when I begin looking for a job as an attending. As a medical student, I failed two courses in second year and had to repeat the year, and therefore took 5 years to complete medical school. On my CV I have my dates listed as 08/2010 - 05/2015. Do I need to include an "education note" or something to explain why it took 5 years? I don't want to have any red flags on my CV. From what I've read, recruiters and employers are more concerned about addressing "gaps of time", but I can't find anything about extended time in school. Should I do a cover letter and address it there instead of a one sentence blurb under my medical school listing? I would appreciate any examples that others have used before. Thank you!