ADHD and Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

C U in MD school

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I am applying to med school this year. I was diagnosed with ADHA. My MCAT score are low because of it (7, 10, 10), I took the test under normal test setting. I'm 25 and I have a lot of work experience in medicine.
Any chance of me getting into med school?
Anyone else has ADHD and is in med school now?
any advice?
which schools take students like me?
how should I let the admission committees know about this? Should I even tell them?
Any advice would help. Thanx!
;)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi - If I was in your situation, I would actually talk to few deans of admissions of some medical school. They'll be the best (and only) people who will give you an accurate answer. Assess their answers and see where you would want to apply. Your MCAT scores are pretty good for your condition, so I think you should be quite optimistic. Good luck!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by C U in MD school:
•Hey all,
I am applying to med school this year. I was diagnosed with ADHA. My MCAT score are low because of it (7, 10, 10), I took the test under normal test setting. I'm 25 and I have a lot of work experience in medicine.
Any chance of me getting into med school?
Anyone else has ADHD and is in med school now?
any advice?
which schools take students like me?
how should I let the admission committees know about this? Should I even tell them?
Any advice would help. Thanx!
;)

If you don't mind me asking whats ADHD?

Members don't see this ad :)
My brother got into med school with a 26 total MCAT, and went on to be AOA and got into a very competitive surgical specialty. With that MCAT you should probably look at the more regional med schools rather than the prestigious research institutions, but you're still an MD in the end.