Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) when consolidating loans for IBR?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tyman123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated medical school in the summer and am now a first year resident. I'm in the process of consolidating my loans and want to take advantage of IBR and PSLF. I did not file taxes last year.

In the AGI section, I put down 0 since I assumed it's asking for last year's income (it was 0 because I was a medical student). However, a section a little later asks for current income. I have no idea what to put for this. If I enter 0 for AGI originally and put my current income in this section, the form says the 2 are incompatible. Should I put a half year income? Let's say I make 50k/year. Do I put down 25k since I will only have worked from July - December of this year?

I'm trying to basically pay $0 for my first year in loans and rely on PSLF in the future. Is this even possible? Someone please help!

Members don't see this ad.

Since you did not file taxes last year, most likely you won't pay 0 this first year. You'll have to submit an income document which will show your half year income.

Would this just be my hospital's contract or some kid of sheet listing my income?

Members don't see this ad :)
Almost everyone I've talked to in real life recommends putting $0 down. Then a half years salary for the next year.

You can put down 0. But they usually ask for verification through tax returns. If you can't provide that, you have to submit alternative documentation which will likely require you to submit intern pay stub info.